How do researchers in physics approach their work and make discoveries?

• Thread starter user_12345
  • Start date
In summary, a researcher in theoretical physics does a variety of tasks during the day, including relating to professional figures, making scientific discoveries, and trying to rectify inconsistencies between models.
user_12345
Hi everyone, I've always liked physics, so I decided a few months ago to study physics as a self-taught.
Now I have some questions about researchers.

What does a researcher in theoretical physics do during the workday?
What professional figures does he/she relate to?
How do you make scientific discoveries?
If I study all the subjects that are studied in university could I ever make discoveries?
Thank you, sorry for my english.

Likes Twigg, berkeman and Dale
Physics news on Phys.org
Most of my papers in theory have come after realizing that I had tools in my toolbox that could address an open question. It's 99% perspiration and 1% inspiration - meaning I've spent a lot of time slogging through details and learning/developing new tools and digging through large volumes of literature thinking "maybe I'm onto something here." I've hit a lot of dead ends. But once in a while things come together as I was hoping and I manage a small contribution.

"Discoveries" is a strong word if you mean it in the sense of popular science. But in the process of pursuing theory, I have been the first person to see a few interesting things - well interesting to me, and interesting enough to the peer-reviewers to get them published.

I relate most strongly to Faraday - like him, I am more of an experimentalist with a vivid imagination - and once in a while with enough perspiration - my vivid imagination leads somewhere - it is delightful, but it often feels like a blind mouse finding a cookie. I know there's cookies out there, but with so many theorists who are smarter than me - it's a kind of miracle I ever find anything first.