How do I calculate net present value (NPV) after 4 years?

• MHB
  • Thread starter marvelcomicsguy
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Net Value
In summary, calculating net present value (NPV) involves determining the present value of future cash flows, taking into account the time value of money and the cost of capital. To calculate the NPV after 4 years, you will need the initial investment, expected cash flows for each year, and the discount rate. The formula for NPV is NPV = C0 + (C1 / (1+r)^1) + (C2 / (1+r)^2) + (C3 / (1+r)^3) + ... + (Cn / (1+r)^n). Make sure to use consistent units and discount rate. If you need further assistance, provide the specific numbers and I can guide you through the calculation
marvelcomicsguy
Hi!

I am an absolute noob when it comes to business maths and I really need some help. This basic Net present value question is driving me crazy. I know it's probably really simple but I just can't seem to get the same answer as the question suggest for the NPV after 4 years.

Could someone shed some light of the formula for calculating 4 years? I should then be able to calculate for years 2 and 3 myself!

View attachment 3802 Thanks in advance.

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2015-01-11 at 23.01.35.png
    Screen Shot 2015-01-11 at 23.01.35.png
    19.1 KB · Views: 43
Mathematics news on Phys.org

Hi there!

Calculating net present value (NPV) can be tricky, but once you understand the formula, it becomes much easier. NPV is a way to determine the present value of future cash flows, taking into account the time value of money and the cost of capital.

To calculate the NPV after 4 years, you will need the following information:

1. Initial investment (usually denoted as C0)
2. Expected cash flows for each year (denoted as C1, C2, C3, etc.)
3. Discount rate (usually denoted as r)

The formula for calculating NPV is:

NPV = C0 + (C1 / (1+r)^1) + (C2 / (1+r)^2) + (C3 / (1+r)^3) + ... + (Cn / (1+r)^n)