How did early scientists conduct experiments without modern resources?

• Thread starter rejuice
  • Start date
In summary, early scientists collected data through observation and manual recording, using tools like rulers and thermometers. They controlled variables in their experiments through controlled and natural experiments, and tested their hypotheses with simple experiments and observations. Collaboration played a significant role in early scientific experiments, as scientists shared knowledge and resources and replicated each other's work. To ensure accuracy and reliability, early scientists used repetition and peer review of their results.
rejuice
How did you find PF?
search engines like duckduckgo
Hi everyone, I graduated in chemistry some years back and am trying to get back into it (hence the username). I've found myself appreciating older textbooks more than newer ones - the concepts are presented without the fluff and there's more hands-on experimenting with the real stuff, not just analogous examples with boring things like paper and marshmallows. But science is expensive and we don't have local chemists anymore. You sadly have to figure out ingredients of store items by looking them up online since they hide the actual contents on the label. "Nobody cares about our trade secrets" seems to be the thought. Enough ranting.

I've been really trying to dig into the old experiments, figuring out how the original scientists managed to figure this stuff out with very little background info. It's cool to read. I'd like to find more of that.

I'm a big fan of rocketry, and I've done some of it in the past.

It seems I just have a jinx - none of my apparati built-from-scratch work, especially electrical, even the simple things like trying to conduct static electricity down a thread.

Likes Greg Bernhardt and berkeman
Physics news on Phys.org
rejuice said: