How can I use self-taught skills in business management to advance my career?

In summary, you need to find a job that will allow you to pursue further education in "Business Management" and have experience working in a company.
trueo
new skill needs job change:D

I would like to know how are they related ?

I am now working as an accountant and also trying to save my free time at night learning business administration and management, how can I persuade my future interviewers/employers that I do have skills in business management if later I leave the current company for another one. Teaching and training oneself some subjects can't be proven as working experience to most employers. Even when hired, I can't be evaluated as an experienced business manager, because I was an accountant and hence the expected salary might be much lower (than that for an experienced accountant). I am looking for a link between these two to step up. :cool: Thank you for your advice, suggestions and teachings.

Physics news on Phys.org

Have you considered moving to one of the big (international client base) accountancy firms on the management consultancy side?

What are you saying? That because you pursue further (after-hours) education in "Business Management" that someone should hire you to be Plant Manager, Financial Director, or Chief Executive Officer? That's not realistic. Education without experience has little use.

And the reality of the corporate world is this:
  • There is one or more ladders to the upper ranks of "Business Management" positions.
  • In any existing corporation, all of the rungs of those ladders already have people waiting to move up.
  • In any new company, you can only get to those upper Business Management positions if you have experience.