How Can I Learn Coding Before College Without Spending a Lot of Money?

In summary, the conversation revolves around the individual's desire to learn coding, their limited resources, and the best approach to take. Suggestions include purchasing a book on Python programming, enrolling in a college course, or using online resources and tutorials. The individual is encouraged to consider their motivation for learning programming and to actively seek out problems to solve using their newly acquired skills.
gmr535
I am a sophomore and I want to learn coding before I start college. I don't have much money and I need to know what resources I could use to learn a language. I have tried free online sites and apps but the abstract nature of the teaching and the lack of "real" coding makes me lose interest quickly and I don't feel like I have learned much.
I think the best option would be a summer program but those tend to be expensive :( Should I just bite the bullet and go to a summer program like iDtech or are there any better ways? Maybe I could talk to my counselor about college courses during the summer semester? I am 100% clueless about this. If you are a programmer it would be great to know how you learnt!

Physics news on Phys.org
If you can spare $20, pick up the book "Python Programming: An Introduction to Computer Science" by John Zelle.

gmr535 said:
If you are a programmer it would be great to know how you learnt!
I first learned how to program many years ago by purchasing a book on the C programming language. I worked through the whole book including many of the exercises.