How can i be a clinical chemist?

• Thread starter Silex7
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Chemist
In summary: In the US, I believe it's called a "Professional Competency Assessment" or "Competency Certification" thanks a lot for the reply,i'll look into it.
Silex7
hi,..

i want to inquire about something.. am now a science student majored in chemistry.. i want to inquire about how can i work as a clinical chemist? or pathologist?..but the last i think it's only for medicine college graduates..but for me as a chemist could i be able to work as a clinical chemistr in hospital or labs? i mean what's the procedures i should take considering diploma..masters.. etc??..

thanks heavily n advance,

Physics news on Phys.org
Silex7 said:
hi,..

i want to inquire about something.. am now a science student majored in chemistry.. i want to inquire about how can i work as a clinical chemist? or pathologist?..but the last i think it's only for medicine college graduates..but for me as a chemist could i be able to work as a clinical chemistr in hospital or labs? i mean what's the procedures i should take considering diploma..masters.. etc??..

thanks heavily n advance,

I studied biochemistry in the UK as an undergraduate and you could "major" in either Biotechnology, cliniical biochemistry or toxicology. I chose Toxicology

The clinical Biochemistry major was tailored for work in the health services.

Ironically, my first job out of university was working in hospital biochem lab. The majority of work in this area was not done by highly trained personnel and to have any form of serious carreer required postgraduate qualifications, entry via the medical profession or a significant length of service (decades not years).

Things may be different now but have you considered variations on the theme such as contract research.Pre-clinical or clinical CRO's have clinical chemistry labs doing the same testing but on human and animal species, there might be more opportunity there.