Historical: Mechanized cutting of stone vs. concrete

In summary, the conversation discusses the use of cut stone in ancient and modern structures. The question is raised about whether there was ever a culture that used machine-cut stone extensively, with examples provided of the Romans and Germans using machine-cut marble and granite. It is noted that structural concrete and steel are now the main materials used for large structures, with fired brick for smaller ones. The conversation also includes links to resources for further information on the topic.
Breeze
Hello.

I've just found this forum as I am looking for an answer to a question. For what it's worth, by way of introduction, I am a software and telephony engineer, with interests in aviation, boat design, and energy-efficient houses. I also write when I can.

Here's my question.

Plenty of ancient and old structures use cut stone structurally. The Romans (and, I have found with a quick Google) the Egyptians used mortar as a bonding agent, to extend the capabilities of stone and fired brick (fired brick being an Indian invention of about 3000 BC).

Structural concrete seems to be a 19th-century French invention, and (along with steel) is the usual material for large structures today.

My question is: Was there ever a culture that used machine-cut stone much? Or did everyone go from natural (or hand-cut) structural stone, to structural concrete and steel, with fired brick for smaller structures? I can't even think of an example of a structure that used machine-sawn stone.

Thanks.

Engineering news on Phys.org
i sell coordinate measurement machines made in Germany..they are made with granite that is mecahnically cut then ground and hand lapped to microns flatness..many components of structures use granite,,all are cut with a diamond rope saw to rough dimensions and machined to tight tolerances..

Aberdeen the granite city
http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b00ml5wx/Jonathan_Meades_Off_Kilter_Episode_1/