Help solving Tornado Tree Problem in Alabama

In summary, a man is trying to remove a tree that is leaning dangerously and he is looking for a safe way to do it. He has spoken to experts and has found that the safest way to do it is to hire professionals with liability insurance.
MrPennywhistl
Howdy from the tornado ravaged state of Alabama. We've been going out with chainsaws for days on end trying to help anyone we can. This guy wants to get this tree down so his grand children won't get hurt. What is the safest way to do this? I only have about 10 hours to figure it out. I'm taking a crew out tomorrow and will stay all day until this tree is down. Any help would be appreciated.

Please post your answers on the YouTube page and I will use the best answer. Also, if you subscribe I will upload a video showing how I solve the problem.
I am a Mechanical Engineer who has almost finished my Master's in Aersopace Engineering, so feel free to throw out all the technical jargon you want.

Help!

Destin

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
MrPennywhistl said:
What is the safest way to do this?

Not being insensitive at all, but: The safest way is to hire professionals with liability insurance.
Damaged trees can be extremely dangerous to deal with.
A wrong cut/inappropriate bracing can result in severe injury or death.

I've seen a case where "medium sized" tree branches were cut-off in the intent of reducing the size of the damaged tree prior to full removal, only to have the trees center of gravity altered and crashing onto a neighbors roof.

I agree with your viewpoint, but the scale of destruction down here is much larger than you probably have imagined. People are having to do the best they can with what they have on hand. This tree has already been in place like this for a week, with no crews available to get to him. The man is concerned for his children. We're going to do something about it.

OK.