Help solving non-linear second order DE

In summary, the conversation is about solving a second order differential equation with the form x'' + ax' + bx^n = 0, where x^n means x to the power n, and a and b are constants. The person asking for help has tried substituting x'=u to get a first order linear equation, but got lost in the algebra. They are asking for a different method to solve the equation. Another person suggests solving the associated quadratic and solving the linear equation x'' + ax' = 0 first. The conversation also touches on the difficulty of solving non-linear differential equations, and the blind leading the blind. It is revealed that the problem comes from a course, but the person asking for help does not have experience with
Pete69
could anyone help me with solving this second order differential equation? I am a noob on here so not sure how you get the mathplayer stuff on... so the equation is of the form

x'' +ax' + bx^n = 0

(x^n means x to the power n, with a and b constants). i tried substituting x'=u to get a first order linear, but then got lost in the algebra of solving the linear DE with a integrating factor.. so is there a different method?

thanks, Pete

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Don't you solve the associated quadratic?

well substituing u=x' i get the equation

u' + au = -bx^n

which is of the form

y' +ay = f(x)

and so I multiply by the relevant integrating factor to solve, but the algebra gets very hard..

i only know how to solve linear second order DE, and got the idea of substituting x'=u from other posts, and so don't know if it is the correct way to go about this problem...

could you explain what the associated quadratic you are talking about is, as its probably something i haven't yet come across...

thanks, Pete

Don't you just have

x'' + ax' = -bx^n

So first solve x'' + ax' = 0, do you know how to do that?

Then assume a solution to solve the = -bx^n part?