Help an Undergrad Physics student decide on Electives

In summary, an Applied Physics Undergrad is unsure of what to do after graduation and is faced with choosing between two electives - Physical Chemistry 3 or Sensors & Actuators in the second year, and Physical Chemistry 4 or Instrumentation & Control in the third year. They are seeking advice on which elective would be more beneficial for their career, with some students recommending the Chemistry module for an academic path and the Sensors module for an industry path. Ultimately, the student decides to choose the Sensors route as it offers more versatility and potential in both academia and industry. Additionally, they are advised to also consider learning programming and mechatronics to further enhance their skills and opportunities.
bocces
Hey all,

I'm an Applied Physics Undergrad who just finished first year and I ended up with a 2:1, which is grand.

Anyway, in second year we have to pick between two electives, Physical Chemistry 3 or Sensors & Actuators. Then again in third year you have either Physical Chemistry 4 or Instrumentation & Control. (Obviously, if you pick the Chen elective you have to continue on with the Chem stream and vice versa)

Basically, what would be the best to pick? I honestly have no idea what I want to do after my degree. I thought I did but college level physics is different to what I thought it was (in a good way) so I'm sort of back at having no clue as to what I want. I have a feeling those on this forum may work in both industry and others have a more academic life. What would set me up better for a career after college?

Talking to those in other years they said choose the Chem module if you think you want an academic career and then the second module if you want a "straight to industry" career. Again, not sure what I want to do.

Any advice anyone can give would be brilliant.