Help an EE student get into mechanical design

In summary: There are many good books on mechanical design but I would recommend "Machine Design" by Christopher Gray. It is a relatively short read (~500 pages) and is written at a level that is easy for self-taught engineers to understand.
Ryuk1990
Hi, I'd like to learn some mechanical design. My knowledge in mechanics is mainly from general physics and a basic course in engineering mechanics. Is this enough to take on intermediate level mechanical design? Should I take a few ME classes? If so, what would you recommend? What is a good free software program for mechanical design? Any good books on self-teaching mechanical design?

Last edited:
Engineering news on Phys.org
Depends how far you've gone with engineering mechanics. I'm not sure what they cover in intermediate mech. design, but I think if you understand basic statics, mechanics of materials, some basic materials science, and are comfortable with combined loadings, I would say to take a shot at it. You might be able to pick some stuff up along the way even if you're not completely comfortable.