GRE: Solving "n" Integer Question: Determining Possible Values

• MHB
  • Thread starter CharlesLin
  • Start date
In summary, the conversation discusses a question about finding possible values for the integer "n" in a given equation. The solution involves considering the values of "n" that make the equation true, with the only possible answer being n=66. However, the conversation also notes that any positive integer less than 66 is also a correct answer.
CharlesLin
I'm studying for the GRE and got stuck on this question

Suppose "n" is a positive integer such that the smallest whole number that is greater than or equal to n/33 is 1 or 2. Wich are possible values for the integer n? indicate all such integers.

a 15
b 24
c 50
d 66
e 77

what i start doing was giving values to "n" like n=15 then 15/33= .45 the this is not a possible value of "n" because the answer is not a whole number. following this logic, the only possible answer to me is d= 66. However my guide book saids ther more than that possble value for "n". How would you recommend to anwer this question?

Mathematics news on Phys.org
The way I read the problem, we have either:

\(\displaystyle 1>\frac{n}{33}\)

or

\(\displaystyle 2>\frac{n}{33}\)

And since $2>1$, we need only consider:

\(\displaystyle 2>\frac{n}{33}\)

This implies:

\(\displaystyle 66>n\)

so are you saying that the only answer is 66 or that this is the only one that is not an answer?

I am saying any positive integer less than 66 is correct. :D

We only consider 2 because is larger than one. Then we have

2>n/33
33*2= 66

66>n

Any number less than 66 is value of “n”

Thank you very much!

Related to GRE: Solving "n" Integer Question: Determining Possible Values

1. What is an "n" integer question?