Gravity and Universal expansion

In summary: Hubble first observed that the universe is expanding with a non-constant, accelerating velocity, and that this is caused by the mass of Earth. Additionally, GR states that gravity is caused by curvature of space-time, and that this curvature is created by all the energy and momentum content in the universe. If Earth is part of the expanding universe, then it is expanding with a certain direction (into the future), however, there is no 'extra push' created by Earth.
Ahmed Nabi
Hi everyone!
I am new to cosmology and have come across this unbelieving interesting field quite recently ( after reading 'A Brief History of Time' to be honest ). This is my first post in PF.

Hubble first discover that the universe is expanding with non-constant, accelerating velocity. Also according to GR, gravity is caused by curvature of space-time caused by Earth's Mass. My question is, if Earth is (being a part of the expanding universe) expanding with accelerating velocity in a particular direction, where does the counter gravity produced by it goes? For simplicity, if we consider the elevator as Earth we can feel extra 'push' to floor while elevator is going upward. Where does that extra push goes in case of earth?

My question might seem a bit awkward to someone may be but I believe in 'no shame in asking question' principle :)

Space news on Phys.org
Ahmed Nabi said:
Hubble first discover that the universe is expanding with non-constant, accelerating velocity.
Hubble never discovered that the expansion was accelerating. This is a recent discovery.

Ahmed Nabi said:
Also according to GR, gravity is caused by curvature of space-time caused by Earth's Mass.
No, gravity is curvature of space-time created by all energy and momentum content in the Universe.

Ahmed Nabi said:
if Earth is (being a part of the expanding universe) expanding with accelerating velocity in a particular direction