Graphical calculator for an ME major in the US?

In summary: Mechanical Engineering students in the United States should be fine using a simple scientific calculator such as the Casio fx-260 solar scienfific. For more complex tasks or when time is a critical factor, a graphing calculator may be helpful, but is not required. Additionally, having a second working calculator is always a good idea, and carrying batteries is always a good idea when on-the-go.
yecko
Gold Member
I am an Mechanical Engineering student, coming to US next semester as a year 3 exchange student.

Is a graphical calculator is necessary to survive as a mechanical engineering student in US?

I have no previous experience in graphical calculator (we are only allowed to use scientific calculator like casio fx-50FH or fx-3650P in Hong Kong). Is there any calculator model recommendation for mechanical engineering student that is comprehensive, user-friendly and allowed in exams?

Course I am going to take: Heat transfer, control principle, mechanism of machinery

Should I get one like Casio FX115ES,TI-36X Pro, Ti-84 Plus, Ti-89 Titanium or the Ti-Nspire CX CAS?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Physics news on Phys.org
Many ME students use Matlab for their coursework and so I think a computer that can run it would be more important than a graphing calculator.

Likes symbolipoint
I have three degrees, all in mechanical engineering. I have taught mechanical engineering. I have always used the simplest, cheapest scientific calculator I could find. I tried a couple high end HP scientific calculators, and found that I was better off with a simple scientific calculator. I have tested graphics calculators, and have never seen a situation where the graphics feature was of any use at all. The calculator on my desk right now is a Casio fx-260 solar scienfific. I bought it six years ago to replace a similar calculator that died.