Good source homework problems for beam spring structures?

In summary: Your Name]In summary, a student is struggling with their vibrations course and finding resources to help them solve problems related to beam spring structures. They have found their textbook to be unhelpful and are looking for alternative study materials. Suggestions for seeking help from their teacher, forming a study group, and searching for specialized textbooks and online resources are provided as possible solutions. The student is encouraged to persist in their studies and seek support to overcome their difficulties.
Umayer
Hello there,

In this semester I'm studying the vibrations course. In this course we get questions like calculating the total stiffness, set up differential equations and so on. The book that we use (Theory of Vibrations) has not been very useful, our exams give beam spring structures related problems and the book does not really give those kind of problems. Our teacher gave us the lecture sheets but these are impossible to follow since no clear explanation is given.

My question now is, are there any good study materials available that explains step by step how to solve beam spring structures? My mechanics book does not have these kind of questions and when I try to look up on the internet, I can only find videos or websites that explain how set up differential equations of a simple mass spring system. I've attached an example how our questions look like. I'm trying to find more of these types of problems so I can practice and understand more.

Please help me. I'm really desperate T_T

Schermafdruk 2015-12-28 17.07.26.png

Physics news on Phys.org

Dear student,

Thank you for reaching out regarding your struggles with your vibrations course. As a scientist who has studied and researched vibrations extensively, I understand the difficulties that can arise when trying to solve problems related to beam spring structures.