Good (free) resource for learning basic mechanical engineering

In summary, the conversation is about an engineering student looking for a better textbook for their biomechanics class. The student is struggling with the current textbook, which does not provide detailed solutions or explanations. They ask for recommendations for a well-written and affordable book. The conversation then shifts to the topic of statics, and the student clarifies that they are having trouble with the subject. The expert suggests talking to the TA or classmates for help and provides some websites as additional resources.
TurtlesItself
Hi there, I'm a biomedical engineering undergrad currently enrolled in an university whose engineering program is about as masochistic as any other. I'm doing pretty damn well in all my classes not named "biomechanics", which I attribute to my continued inability to learn much of anything at the ungodly hour of 8 AM. This would be fine if our textbook were not terrible and provided solutions worked through in detail, but it is terrible and does not show you how to solve problems or offer you any answers so that you might check your work and learn from your mistakes. It's also a bad book in its own right, the very special way that engineering textbooks are sometimes overly heady and yet simultaneously extremely condescending in what it assumes you do not know; this book has described to me in some detail how to compute the area of a circle but did not take the time to explain the force-weirdness of cantilever beams. On a very basic level, what we have here is a failure to communicate.