Good book for single snd multivariable calculus needed

In summary, the conversation is about a student in class 10 who is eager to do 11 physics but is facing a problem with calculus. The student is seeking suggestions for topics to complete in maths before approaching calculus and for good books to experience it. It is mentioned that a standard precalculus course typically covers topics such as limits, basic matrices, and algebra, but the person speaking did not recall ever doing matrices or limits before starting calculus. They suggest completing topics such as algebra, trigonometry, and mastering skills like completing the square, polynomial long division, trig identities, algebraic manipulation, polynomial rational function LCDs, exponentials and logarithms, and understanding inverse trig functions before approaching calculus. They also mention that intuition and judgement
tiklu123
Hello!I am a student in class 10 at the moment and am eager to do 11 physics but a devilish problem exists...calculus!Could anyone of you suggest me which topics to complete in maths before approaching calculus.Also suggest a few good books to experience calculus.pls!

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Limits, basic matrices, algebra... a standard precalculus course.

I don't recall ever having doing matrices or limits before starting calculus. I used Stewart's early transcendentals, there are very useful apppendixes at the end of the book and a pretest in the beginning of the book that should let you know how ready you are (a pretest which i failed). I certainly agree with the algebra though. Also trig would help but I was able to get by without it, or I should say I taught myself just enough to get through calculus. The popular book for calculus appears to be Spivak's though. I've never read it.

Algebra and trigonometry, exhaust all aspects of these then calculus will be easy.

I teach Calculus and my students are often ill prepared.