Going back for Mechanical Technology?

In summary: Can a mechanical technologist be self-employed? Ie. Start a consulting firm or run their own business? Or is that more of an engineering or tradesperson career option?It depends on your area of expertise and what you're selling. 6) If there are mechanical technologists on this forum, I'd also like to know if they could do it over again, would they a)have done a trade b)pursued engineering c)chosen mechanical technology.I'm not familiar with this question.
oliequeen
Hey all, so I'm at a bit of a crossroads. I recently graduated from a community college with what would probably be considered a biological technician or laboratory technician diploma. I've worked for approximately a year in my field, but got laid off a few months ago. There just seems to be an abundance of labour in this field. I originally did this program because I have a three year biology degree and I figured it would be quick and easy with my background. For instance, anyone who graduates a university with a bachelor or masters in biology, chemistry, biochemistry, biotechnology, environmental science, microbiology, or agriculture is my direct competition. Other people I have worked with and/or graduated with are in a similar predicament, with only 20% of my graduating class being employed. Several people I know have begun night courses in accounting for a CPA designation - one of which has a master's in analytical chemistry and several published papers on chemotherapy delivery. The lab work itself is also somewhat mundane and repetitive (when I went back I was under the impression that a research job would be readily available when I graduated and I could really use my head to try to solve problems).