Given continuity prove a function is integrable.

In summary: However, your proof does not show how this combination actually exists. In summary, the student attempted to prove integrability of a function using the Archimedes Riemann theorem and the definition of uniform continuity, but did not mention that the function was assumed to be continuous. The student provided a proof which was word for word from a textbook, but did not mention that the function was assumed to be continuous. The professor disagreed with the proof and wrote that the function was not continuous.
mrchris

Homework Statement

I am a student in advanced calculus and I am having an issue with a grade I just received. the question was as follows:

If a function f:[0, 3]→ℝ is continuous use the Archimedes Riemann theorem to show that f is also integrable.

I want to take my answer to my professor because I think I deserve more credit than I was given, which was half of the points. I actually think my answer deserves full credit, especially if the points were taken away based on the only comment that the professor wrote on the test. Before I bring this to him, I wanted some honest critiques from the forum because maybe I am missing something and he already dislikes me as it is, so I would rather not get any further on his bad side if I don't really have a case. I will provide you with my exact answer, along with his 5 word comment exactly as they were written by both of us. The question up top is already word for word, so to start off I did not think I was required to use the epsilon delta definition of continuity to prove integrability. Since he did not mention that I am assuming that was not a reason for any deduction.

Homework Equations

archimedes riemann theorem and the definition of uniform continuity.

The Attempt at a Solution

this is it, word for word: