Getting back into research after 10 years?

In summary, the individual has a PhD in theoretical atomic physics and has been working in the IT industry for 10 years. They have recently developed a desire to return to research and have been re-learning math and physics. They are wondering if it is feasible to pursue an academic research post after such a long break and if anyone else has had a similar experience. It is suggested that they consider if they can catch up with any advances made in their chosen subfield in the last ten years, but the individual believes this will not be a major obstacle due to their previous experience with computational research.
bnez
Hello folks,

I graduated 10 years ago with a PhD in theoretical atomic physics and went into the IT industry. My career to date in IT has been successful, however it has never challenged me and recently I have had a great yearning to get back into research. So I have been getting out all my old math books again and started re-learning and re-discovering the joy of maths and physics and the challenges that they bring.

So my question; is it realistic that I could pursue an academic research post after 10 years away? Has anyone else any similar experience?

Regards.

Physics news on Phys.org
The question you need to ask is "can you catch up with the advances made in your chosen subfield in the last ten years"?

Vanadium 50 said:
The question you need to ask is "can you catch up with the advances made in your chosen subfield in the last ten years"?

Thanks for the quick reply.

I don't think that there have been any significant or insurmountable advances in my area of research that would hinder me. A fair portion of my research was computational and this aspect would be the least challenging; parallel programming etc...

Related to Getting back into research after 10 years?

1. How do I update my knowledge and skills after being out of research for 10 years?