Getting a real understanding of general relativity

In summary, the conversation focuses on a newcomer to a forum who is interested in exploring general relativity as a hobby. They have a background in mathematics and some exposure to physics, but want to deepen their understanding. Suggestions are given for books and study materials, including Penrose's "The Road to Reality" and Misner, Thorne, and Wheeler's "Gravitation." Additionally, recommendations are made for physics topics to study, such as special relativity and Newtonian mechanics.
Ryan33H
Hello,
I am new to this forum, but have read a lot of posts and it seems really cool. I am 38 and have a B.S. in mathematics (from many years ago).

I work in insurance, so I am pretty far removed from acedemia now. I have kept up my math studies as a hobby. After studying a lot of theoretical math, it has become really abstract and I am interested in learning how to apply it.

I would really like to learn about general relativity. Just to satisfy my own curiosity. I completed a year of undergraduate physics in my college years (calculus based), but except for pop sci books, that is my only real physics exposure. As far as math goes, I have completed analysis, abstract algebra, linear algebra (theoretical level), and Spivak's Calculus on Manifolds (in addition to a basic math major's requirements). I am well versed with my math up to this level.

The freshman physics I completed was interesting, but not challenging. Just some computational stuff. I would really appreciate any suggestions on where to take my studies into some real physics. Any suggestions about further math to study, but especially physics to get a real understanding of what is needed to explore general relativity would be awesome.