German vs. American physics programs.

In summary, the German physics degree is too theoretical and due the heavy workload in mathematics too tough during the first semesters. However, when you study math and physics separately and get a textbook about physics calculus for your physics lectures, and study during the lectures but if that's too much workload for you, ask former students about the nature of the exams, and do the exams if you can, you can survive the first year.
Markel
Hello,

I'm originally from Canada but I'm studying physics in Germany and I'm just curious to see how different the two physics programs are.

It is the beginning of our 2nd year (though the germans have an extra year of high school, so probably equivalent to the start of 3rd year), and in our theoretical mechanics class we're following the texts of Tom. W.B. Kibble, goldstein, and occaisionally Landau.
We have no 'calculus' classes, only analysis classes- which are really theory heavy and usually focus more on proofs than examples or applications. For instance first semester the professor recomended to us the Spivak book 'calculus'. This semester we're doing multivariable calculus, lebesque integration, complex analysis and functional analysis (in one semester!)

Does this seem normal? I was pretty unprepared for this level of mathematical maturity right out of the gate. I knew physics is hard though so I assumed it must be a similar level of difficulty in the United States and Canada, but now I'm not so sure...

When I look for comparable programs in the us. They seem to be called honours programs or double majors in math and physics. Does this seem right? As far as I can tell, there is no such thing as a honours or double major in Germany. Everyone from potential theoreticians to experimentalists take the same math and physics courses until grad school. Just curious.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Hi Markel,