Geometric Understanding of Tensors.

In summary, a beginner has difficulty understanding the abstract concept of a tensor, and can only visualize it as a transformation of a coordinate system. If you can imagine a tensor as a transformation of coordinate units, it may be easier to understand. However, there is no guarantee that this is the case. There are many mathematical details that must be understood in order to understand the physical meaning of a gravitational field. If you are studying physics formally, taking the time and effort to learn the math is likely desirable and necessary. However, if its for hobby and self learning, be prepared for a long effort.
dpa
I am a beginner in theory of GR and am trying to understand it better.

I have a problem with understanding tensors. I got the algebriac idea, incliding covariance, contravariance and transformations etc of tensors. But not the geometric. Tensors are abstract but can I not have geometric interpretation of Tensors like I can have of Vectors.
If I can get image of tensors like I have of vectors, I think they would be far easier.

Physics news on Phys.org
dpa said:

I have a problem with understanding tensors. I got the algebriac idea, incliding covariance, contravariance and transformations etc of tensors. But not the geometric. Tensors are abstract but can I not have geometric interpretation of Tensors like I can have of Vectors.
If I can get image of tensors like I have of vectors, I think they would be far easier.
No guarantee but you can try to imagine tensor as transformation of coordinate system (just picking new coordinate axes). That's for covariant tensors. And contravariant tensor as transformation of coordinate units.