Geometric Sequences help - (3 given terms, find the rest)

In summary, to find the value of the first term for a geometric series, we can use the formulas tn = t1 x r^(n-1) and Sn = [t1 x (r^n) - 1] / (r - 1). By isolating t1 in the first formula and substituting it into the second formula, we can solve for t1. Alternatively, we can use the formula tn=t1(r^n-1) and substitute for t1 to get [t1 x (r^n) - 1] / (r - 1) = Sn, and solve for t1 from there.
jaxx
I need to find the value of the first term for this geometric series.

Sn = 33
tn = 48
r = -2

I know that I have to take the formulas tn = t1 x r^(n-1), and Sn = [t1 x (r^n) - 1] / (r - 1), and isolate t1 for the first formula and then input that into the second, but I don't know the actual process of doing that.

If anyone can explain it step by step and with reasons maybe, that would be really helpful, I'm not good at math and get confused easily. Any help is appreciated

Mathematics news on Phys.org
We are given:

\(\displaystyle S_n=t_1\frac{1-(-2)^n}{1-(-2)}=t_1\frac{1-(-2)^n}{3}=33\,\therefore\,t_1=\frac{99}{1-(-2)^n}\)

\(\displaystyle t_n=t_1(-2)^{n-1}=48\,\therefore\,(-2)^n=-\frac{96}{t_1}\)

Now, substitute for \(\displaystyle (-2)^n\) into the expression for \(\displaystyle t_1\) to get:

\(\displaystyle t_1=\frac{99}{1+\frac{96}{t_1}}\)

Can you proceed?

sorry I'm not sure how you got to t1 = 99 / 1 - (-2)^n.

I get to 33 = t1[1 - (-2)^n] / 3, then wouldn't you multiply by 3 to get rid of the denominator, making it 99 = t1[1 - (-2)^n]?

either way I see you did multiply by 3, but I'm not sure what you did to flip the equation to get 1 - (-2)^n as the denominator, and Sn as the numerator.also when substituting in 99 / 1 - (-2)^n as t1 in the other formula, I'm not sure how to solve that. The equation would be 48 = [99 / 1 - (-2)^n] x (-2)^(n-1) right?