Freshman Electric Engineer Explores Meaning of F=ma

In summary, a student studying electric engineering had an interesting idea about the formula F=ma and its significance in explaining the nature of force and mass. They also questioned whether acceleration could be considered a more natural quantity than mass. Other users on the forum provided their insights and explanations on the topic, including the relationship between F=ma and conservation of momentum. The student also mentioned that English is not their first language but their English skills are good.
gma
I'm a freshman who majors in electric engineering.

Before several days, I studied for my exam on mathematics.

Accidently, an interesting idea hit me!

If my idea is wrong or meaningless, I welcome threads to explain why.

-----------------------------------------

The meaning of F=ma??

I studied F=ma in my high school, but I only recited this formula until my pencil point was worn out. F=ma, F=ma, F=ma, ...

When I took a look on F=ma, I thought that Force and mass is not natural conception, but only a conception defined by people. Contrary to F and m, acceleration is a natural conception, because it can be induced from the conception of time and space.

But, I heard that F=ma is a great formula explaining the motion of all of things. This formula is a definition of force and mass or a great formula explaining the nature??

my idea is, 'F=ma' means that there exists a quantity of 'a' in every time, every space. Therefore, all of time-velocity graph is continuous graph in nature, because there exists the value of the derivative of 'v'. Experimentally, you know, there is no t-v graph that is not continuous.

As a result, it explains why F=ma is a formula explaining the character of the nature.

----------------------------------

If my English is hard to read, sorry. I'm Asian.
but, my English score is not bad :)

Physics news on Phys.org