Free Fall Scenario: 100kg Piston Kinetic Energy After 20m Drop

In summary, the piston would have a very low kinetic energy underwater, since all of its kinetic energy is consumed in moving the water.
beckerman
Lets say you have a piston falling in a long cylinder. The piston weighs 100kg but only weighs 1kg under water. The cylinder is filled with water, but there is plumbing going from the bottom of the cylinder to the top. As the piston falls the water can move in a continuous loop, from the bottom of the piston to the top. Taking the waters momentum into account, and assuming 100% efficiency what would the kinetic energy of the piston be after a 20m freefall?

Physics news on Phys.org
What are your thoughts on the matter?

I must warn you I am not a scientist, and am pretty ignorant when it comes to physics. My thoughts are the 1kg of mass we have would set the water into motion. Gravity would cause the piston to continue to accelerate. The initial resistance of the water would keep the piston from accelerating at 9.8mpss initially, but once the water was flowing it would accelerate at or near this speed. I think once everything was moving, you would have the kinetic energy of a 100kg object even though it is submerged and weighs only 1kg underwater. I also think that since joules are a measurement that pertains to energy required to stop a moving object, the fact that the water is moving with the piston, and also would need to stop, would have to be figured into the equation.

The weight of the piston is irrelevant, only the mass is of any real consequence.

Could you elaborate please.

I'm thinking it would get nowhere near anything like terminal velocity. The biggest factor would be the diameter of the plumbing and resultant flow rate.

(Or, more accurately, the flow rate through the plumbing would define the terminal velocity.)