Fourier series question (Interested Beginner)

In summary, the musician is trying to figure out how to calculate the frequency components for a periodic waveform. He is not familiar with Fourier series and is asking for help. The first 8 values of the amplitude have been given, but he needs to know how to calculate the frequency components at different values of n.
Bernie bolt
Hi there,
I am a music student and have no math background whatsoever but was wondering if you guys could help me with something that I read in a book on signal processing. I want to create a periodic waveform that is described by the following Fourier series http://dsp-bg.info/files/example_119.jpg . I would like to know how to figure out different values of f with f1 being the fundamental frequency, for example I want to be able to calculate the values for f1+ f2+ f3...+n ect. I have been given the amplitude values (An) of N=8 already but need the frequency components (f1 ect) in order to generate the waveform. I am pretty ignorant in this area so If I have not been clear in my question I apologise in advance. Hope someone can help. Thanks,B.

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
I am not really sure what you want. Your frequencies f1, f2, ..., fN would just be integral multiple of your fundamental frequency i.e. f1, 2f1, ... Nf1, respectively.

Last edited: