First Order Nonlinear Partial Differential Equation

In summary, the conversation discusses a first order nonlinear partial differential equation with initial and boundary conditions. The equation is solved by using the method of characteristics and fitting the initial conditions to the resulting surface. However, there is a question on whether this approach is appropriate for this particular equation.
Compressible
I have derived a first order nonlinear PDE with its corresponding initial and boundary conditions given by:

dv/dt + A*(v^2)*dv/dx = 0 (where A is a constant)

v(t = 0) = C (constant value)
v(x = 0) = 0

I'm not quite sure how to solve this. I was thinking about using the method of characteristics, but since I haven't had too much experience with it, I'm not sure if it would be applicable here. If anyone has any hint on how to get started, I would really appreciate it. Thanks in advance.

Physics news on Phys.org
I have no experience either but to get started what I would do is write that

[tex]\frac{∂v}{∂t}/\frac{∂v}{∂x} = -Av^2[/tex]

Then at constant v

[tex]( \frac{dx}{dy})_v = Av^2 [/tex]

[tex]x = Av^2t + K [/tex] at constant v.

Fitting that to your initial conditions generates your surface I think. :rolleyes: Something like that.

Solved! Thanks!

They don't count that as non-linear AFAIK though.

Related to First Order Nonlinear Partial Differential Equation

What is a First Order Nonlinear Partial Differential Equation?

A First Order Nonlinear Partial Differential Equation is a mathematical equation that involves multiple variables and their partial derivatives, where the highest derivative is of the first order and the equation is nonlinear. It is used to model complex systems and phenomena in various fields of science and engineering.

What is the difference between a First Order Nonlinear Partial Differential Equation and a First Order Linear Partial Differential Equation?