Finding the resultant of two vector of an oblique triangle

In summary, to find the resultant displacement of a car that travels 20.0 km due north and then 35.0 km in a direction 60.0° west of north, you can use the Pythagorean theorem to find the magnitude of the resultant vector, which is approximately 40.3112887 km. To find the angle β between vector A and the resultant, you can use the basic trig formulas for a right triangle and find that it is approximately 39° west of north. Alternatively, you can break down the vectors into their components and use the formula for finding the magnitude of a vector from its components to find the same result.
ElizabethC7

Homework Statement

A car travels 20.0 km due north and then 35.0 km in a direction 60.0° west of north. Using a graph, find the magnitude and direction of a single vector that gives the net effect of the car's trip. This vector is called the car's resultant displacement.

I am studying for a physics test, and this is a problem out of my textbook. The author gives the answer of the resultant to be 48 km, and the angle β, the angle between vector A and the resultant, to be 39° west of north.

Homework Equations

From the book, because I missed class the day we went over this, I have learned that to find the resultant one simply adds vector A to vector B.

R= A + B

Also, from different physics web sites, some people have suggested the pythagorean theorem; however, I believe that only works with right triangles, not oblique.

R2= A2 + B2

Lastly, I came across this equation.

c2= a2 + b2 - 2abcos(c)

The Attempt at a Solution

I have tried all 3 equations.

1) R= 20 + 35= 55

2) R2=202 +352
R2= 1625
R= (sqrt 1625)
R= 40.3112887

3) R2= 202 + 352 - 2(20)(35)cos(60)
R2= 1625-1400cos(60)
R2=1625-933.71
R2= 691.29
R= 26.2923943