Finding Problems with a Thermographic Camera

• Thread starter Adder_Noir
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Camera
In summary, the speaker is an electrician who is frustrated with the poor wiring practices in domestic properties and is considering learning plastering as a side job. They are interested in purchasing a thermographic camera to assist with cable runs, but want to know if there are cheaper options available. They are advised to seek help from a forum dedicated to their specialty and to contact companies like Horton Levi for recommendations.
Adder_Noir
Hi,

As an electrician I'm tired of lifting floorboards to find problems in domestic propertys and having every fault finding call ending up like an episode of fawlty towers because of inter-connections, ludicrously planned cable runs and all kinds of other appalling wiring practices exhibited by the previous electricians who wired up the houses I have to do calls on. I'm so fed up I'm learning plastering on the side to give me a bit of a break from it all and a new avenue through which to earn a living. I don't obviously want to stop doing electrics though...

So I want X-Ray vision. Not literally obviously but I really love seeing new technology shatter age old problems. So I'm in the market for a thermographic camera. It doesn't have to be ultra sophisticated, all I need is for it to show me were cable runs are, which by thermographic camera standards should be an absolute piece of cake. I've seen one new for £3,500 which I'd happily part with the money for but before I start saving or take out a loan does anyone know if I can achieve my aim with a cheaper camera?

Just curious, I don't want to spend several grand on something when a piece of kit that costs a fraction of the price can do the same thing.

Thanks in advance :wink:

Engineering news on Phys.org
Try posting your question here
http://forum.doityourself.com/forumdisplay.php?f=9"
Helpful folks more attuned to your specialty.