Find the capacitance from 2 energies stored, not knowing voltage

In summary, Steven Thomas found a way to solve a homework equation by noting that the voltage varies as the square of the energy stored. By solving for V, he determined that a capacitor of 200uF would work.
Steven Thomas
Hi there, new to this website so please bare with me if I break any rules and let me know for future.

I am a maths and physics tutor but occasionally I come across a question I just cannot work the answer for. In this case I know the answer but I can't get to it.

1. Homework Statement

Initially a charged capacitor stores 1600μJ of energy. When the pd across it decreases by 2.0V, the energy stored by it becomes 400μF. What is the capacitance of this capacitor?

A. 100μF
B. 200μF
C. 400μF
D. 600μF

Homework Equations

E=(CV2)/2
rearrange the above to give C=2E/V2

The Attempt at a Solution

So I've equated the two Cs to give me an equation that looks like E1/V2 = E2/(V-2)2 (the 2s have cancelled). I multiply each side by the opposite sides denominator and expand my squared bracket. Then by using the values of E given in the question I have a quadratic equation in terms of V that I can solve. This then gives me the values of V = 4 and V = 1.5. Using V = 4 with my E1 value I get the correct capacitance of 200μF. Do I know it must be V = 4 because I can't take 2volts away from V = 1.5?