Fictional iron chemical reactions

In summary, this technology, if possible, could theoretically alter the mass of certain atoms, resulting in a material that behaves more like another atom. If this alteration were to take place in nature, it's likely that the compound would break down. However, in the case of weapons design, the field was used to mask the mass and charge of one proton, resulting in an enormous electric field and pressures that would eventually kill the target.
jerich1000
I am a mechanical engineer who is writing a science fiction novel where a means has been discovered to temporarily reduce the mass of the nucleus of certain 56Fe atoms. When a certain field is applied to the iron, it gets lighter. When the field is removed, the iron regains its original mass. If the field is applied more strongly, the iron begins to behave more like manganese or even chromium. And, ultimately, if the field is applied more severely still, the nuclei begin to experience fission.

OBVOUSLY, this cannot happen in real life, but if it could, then what would happen in the following cases:

(Please don’t get down on me for acting a “hypothetical” question in this forum. Even though the question is hypothetical, the answer, I believe is interesting and can provide a good learning opportunity.)

1) The compounds Fe2O3, Fe2O3•3H2O, FeCO3, Fe3O4, and FeS2, and others, are all natural ores of iron found in nature.
2) If the mass of the iron were reduced sufficiently such that behaved more like manganese, would the Fe (fictionally) most likely be rejected from the above compounds?
3) Would it be rejected as a gas, or would it precipitate out as elemental manganese in solution—until the field is removed and the manganese-ish material would return to elemental iron?
4) Would these reactions be endothermic, since the oxidation of Fe into the compounds in 1) above are exothermic?

Thank you for your help.

Chemistry news on Phys.org