Favorite Math Books: Prime Obsession, Journey Through Genius, Who Is Fourier?

• Thread starter MathAmateur
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Books
In summary, the conversation is about a person's love for mathematical books and their current read, "Prime Obsession" by John Derbyshire. They also ask for recommendations of other books with beautiful proofs and intuitive presentations of difficult subjects, listing their own favorites.
MathAmateur
I am just an amateur in this math biz, but I love good books on the subject. I am presently reading "Prime Obsession" by John Derbyshire and I am absolutely loving it. Derbyshire's presentation of Euler's proof of the golden key:

[tex]
\sum_n n^{-s} = \prod_p (1-p^{-s})^{ -1}
[/tex]

makes me just shiver with delight.

What are some of your favorite math books? Not so much textbooks but books that contain math, preferably beautiful proofs and intuitive presentations of difficult subjects. If this is something that has been thoroughly thrashed in the past and you don't want to bring it up again, send me the links. Otherwise, to start here are my favorites:

1. Journey Through Genius: The Great Theorems of Mathematics by William Dunham
Wow! This book is a feast of great theorems
2.The Shape of Space by Jeffrey R. Weeks
Topology heaven for the math challenged
3. Who Is Fourier?: A Mathematical Adventure by Transnational College of LEX
I finally understood Fourier series and transforms at least at a very elementary level.
4. Gödel, Escher, Bach: An Eternal Golden Braid by Douglas R. Hofstadter
Not a math book, but his presentation of Gödel's proof was accessible to me.
5.Prime Obsession by John Derbyshire
Oh man. What can I say. It is full of gorgeous math. Riemann is turning into one of my heroes for sure.
6. How to Prove It: A Structured Approach by Daniel Velleman
Ha! I can prove things too!

Mathematics news on Phys.org
You might like
Finding Moonshine by De Sautoy