Factors affecting generator life and performance

In summary, the factors that affect the life and performance of a generator, aside from environmental factors, include load, vibration, and several other factors such as wear on sliding parts, insulation breakdown, dirt and grime buildup, and thermal expansion. It is important to keep generators taut, clean, and cool to ensure their longevity. While there may be hundreds of factors that could potentially affect the life of a generator, the primary ones are load and vibration.
ggmu93
Hi I am a student who wants to know what factors apart from environmental factors affect the life and performance of a generator. I think that the load also would affect the life if so How? Also are there any other factors.

Do let me know ..thanks

Engineering news on Phys.org
I don't see how load can reduce the life. Providing load is what they are designed for.

I think the number one non-environmental threat to long life is vibration.

Your question makes me think of the generators and motors near Niagara Falls that have been running about 125 years. They are probably good for an additional 250 years.

9894-1.gif

Likes jim hardy
Oh ok thanks a lot! So its just environmental factors and vibrations that affect generator life then?

ggmu93 said:
Oh ok thanks a lot! So its just environmental factors and vibrations that affect generator life then?

I didn't say "just" I said "primary". If you want to look in depth, there are hundreds of factors.

cool thanks

What wears out ?
sliding parts like bearings brushes and slip rings.
Insulation on the wires can get abraded away if they're allowed to vibrate, and excessive temperature can make it brittle and crumbly.
Insulating varnish can break down chemically from excessive heat. That's the "Burnt" smell a motor emits shortly before failure, often accompanied by smoke..

Allowing dirt and grime to accumulate will block flow of cooling air and it might get into your moving parts.