Extrema of multivariable function

In summary, the expert is trying to find the extrema of a function f(x,y) = (4x^2)(e^y) - 2x^4 - e^4y but is having difficulty because of the exponentials in the equation. To simplify the equation, the expert sets e^y-1 to zero and gets 1 and -1 which yields the points (-1,0) and (1,0). If x=0 then the other equation doesn't work.
haroldholt
Hi

I'm studying for a calculus exam and I'm a little stuck on finding the extrema for multivariable functions.

For the particular question I'm trying to do now I need to find and classify the extrema for the function f(x,y) = (4x^2)(e^y) - 2x^4 - e^4y.

I can find the first derivatives, being fx = 8xe^y - 8x and fy = (4x^2)(e^y) - 4e^4y and I know I have to let them be equal to 0 to find where the extrema are located but I'm not sure how to do that. I guess it's just the exponentials that are throwing me off.

Any help would be appreciated.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
You have done well so far. The next step is to simultaneously set those partial derivatives to zero. So try that and show us the results.

Thanks

Well it's 0 = 8xe^y - 8x and 0 = (4x^2)(e^y) - 4e^4y. But I'm not sure where to go from there. I'm not sure what to do with the exponentials, I know they can never equal zero, but I'm not sure what that means for my equations.

Simplify the fx=0 equation.

0 = 8x(e^y - 1). But I still don't know what to do with the exponential.

Any equation of the form a*b=0 tells you that either a=0 or b=0 (or both). This is obviously of that form. x=0 doesn't lead to any extrema. (Why not?) What happens when you set e^y-1 to zero?

Thanks for that. I now realize that y can be set to zero in the equation 8x(e^y - 1). And then if you sub y = 0 into the other equation you get 1 and -1 which yields the points (-1,0) and (1,0) (which is the answer in the back of the book :smile:). And if x = 0 then the other equation doesn't work. Thanks heaps. I now see how stupid I was initially lol.