Exploring Time and the Solar System with Santural

In summary, the concept of time as a fourth dimension is used to measure time intervals, but it is not absolute and can vary depending on the observer's frame of reference. This is due to the geometry of the path through space-time, and there is no universal or cosmic time. The shortest distance between two points is a straight line, and similarly, the shortest elapsed time occurs along a straight path without any acceleration.
Santural
Hello everyone,
I'm new to this sector of the Gould's Belt, so let me introduce myself :I go by the name of Santural,the resident of...ok I'll stop being such a dork:rolleyes: .
Well, I recently read ("studied") The G theory of R, and one thing failed to penetrate the walls of stupidity into my tiny drop of intelligence.
What I can't seem to understand, is the application of time as a fourth dimension. How exactly does one measure time? Is it all simply relative? Ex. You can measure time relative to earth, but is there a cosmological "time" that applies to everything?
Do forgive me if I'm being a complete dolt, but try to understand my position...:approve:

Also, as a random thing, isn't the scale of the solar system something amazing, what with the Oort cloud and stuff?

Well, sorry for taking your time,
Santural.

Physics news on Phys.org
This would probably get more responses in the "relativity" section rather than "cosmology". There is no "absolute" time and so no "cosmic" time. How time passes, at what time events occur, and whether two separated events occur at the same time all depend on your "frame of reference" and so specifically on your speed relative to another observer of the same events.

Sorry!
Thanks, I'll post it there A.S.A.P.
And thanks for the info!

Hello everyone,
I'm new to this sector of the Gould's Belt, so let me introduce myself :I go by the name of Santural,the resident of...ok I'll stop being such a dork .