Exploring Lorentz Transformations & Time Dilation Experiments

In summary, Someone learned about Special Relativity and decided to learn about Time dilation. They were told that they needed to learn about the mathematical equation to understand it, but they did not understand it. They then asked for help on a forum and were helped. They then decided to do an experiment to see if what they were told was true. They aimed a laser at a mirror and found that the reflected spot would move even when the Earth was moving.
P J Strydom
TL;DR Summary
Is it possible to test to see if light misses a target when the inferometer moves?
I am totally new to the theory of Special Relativity, but find it very facinating. As a young man I saw a few documentaries on how Einstein saw a clock's movement reaching noon, and how he, traveling in a tram heard the gong only later. He then thought about what if he traveled at the speed of light.

This is just nice things to think about.
I now, after 30 years or so, decided that I would love to understand Special Relativity. As I spoke to people about the theory, I learned that I do not understand how someone traveling very fast, measurable by a fraction of c, would undergo Time dilation. Forget about length contraction, that is even worse for me to understand how a train traveling at say .95% of c will be able to fit in a double garage.
Then some patient people went into depth on what will happen if say one is able to travel just below c towards the moon, that I moved closer to Earth to 300 000 km and not the standard 365k.
I even said I will have a clock on Earth, one on the moon and one in the space ship.

I was assured that if I reach the Moon, my clock on the ship will be slower than the one on the moon.
One guy told me that if this is possible, everyone comparing these two clocks will have one of 2 reactions.
1. They will shake their heads and will not understand it,