Exploring the Impact of Gravity on Time and Distance

In summary: You are correct in saying that the speed would be the factor in dilating time, however, the angle of the interrupt would also play a role. If the angle of interruption was too great, then the object would be deviated from the path altogether and would reach its destination at a different time.
Mayankv1994
I'm feeling so frustrated that I typed out a whole detailed write up & it got washed off. Damn it.

1. How does gravity dilate time? I've been trying to get a conceptual answer that is easy to understand, for I have no background in physics whatsoever & am reading up out of interest.
Today however I started to wonder if the question itself was wrong, & that if I should be asking myself how gravity dilates/warps spacetime, since time isn't absolute.

2. Let us say an object travels from point A to B in space at Y Km/h, reaching B in X seconds. Let us also assume the object has traveled throughout its journey in linear motion, without being gravitationally interrupted/deviated from it's pathway.
If this same object were to travel from the same point A to B in space at Y Km/h, this time however being interrupted at some point by the gravitational pull of a body of mass, deviating off path, and into orbit of the body of a considerable mass. The speed & angle of this object however allows it to escape the the gravitational pull of this large body, to get back on track and reach point B. Due to momentary deviation, the interrupted object would obviously have taken a slightly curved path, meaning that it would have traveled a longer distance in reaching B, & since the speed was the same for the interrupted & uninterrupted object, the interrupted object would've taken a longer period of time to reach point B.