Exploring the Equivalence of Category Theory and Versatility

In summary: I don't know much category theory, from what other mathematicians say it is more or less something that you learn after you solidify your foundations in the main subjects like algebra, topology, etc., and one wouldn't really be able to capture how useful it is without first becoming really comfortable with such subjects, it does provide motivation more than anything. In summary, people keep telling me that Category Theory is useless, but it is actually a versatile tool that can be used in many areas of mathematics.
hepiaaro
I am a final year math major thinking of taking Category Theory (CT). The problem is people keep telling me its useless. Why?

I have a biology degree and decided to get a second degree in mathematics. My motivation for studying mathematics is related partly to an idea I stumbled across in high school and to my total love of biology. I recall realizing, at about 16, that scientific models are not always domain specific; that some are versatile. This idea had been swimming around in my head for years until I read a description of CT. And now I'm wandering whether there is a real equivalence between this "versatility" and CT

So, does the equivalence exist? And why do people keep writing it off as "abstract nonsense". Can I use CT as a tool to build versatile "models"?
Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
It isn't really useless, it just doesn't have very many application outside of mathematics, one of the major ones being biology.

Allen Beers said:
It isn't really useless, it just doesn't have very many application outside of mathematics, one of the major ones being biology.

You're 17 years old and haven't done any abstract mathematics. Maybe you should stay out of this thread.

Likes radium