Exploring Physics: A Newbie's Questions on Space and Curvature

In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of space and its curvature. The participants acknowledge that space itself cannot be physically bent, but rather it is the mathematical properties of space-time that make objects appear to move in a curve. This was confirmed by the bending of light rays, as predicted by Einstein's Theory of General Relativity. The concept of mass also plays a role in curving space, as seen in the example of the sun bending light from stars behind it.
Hankb
Hello,
I just joined. I have no formal background in physics, just curiosity. So, my questions may well be simplistic to most of you. Hopefully, that is permissible, now and then! First question, if space, as it's usually defined, is empty, nothing, how can it be curved?
Hankb

Astronomy news on Phys.org
Hankb said:
Hello,
I just joined. I have no formal background in physics, just curiosity. So, my questions may well be simplistic to most of you. Hopefully, that is permissible, now and then! First question, if space, as it's usually defined, is empty, nothing, how can it be curved?
Hankb
"space is curved" is a very poor (pop-science) way of describing what happens. I agree w/ you that space is just a dimension, not something that you (or anything) can bend, but space-time has mathematical properties that make things traveling in it ACT from the point of view of Euclidean Geometry, as though they are moving in a curve. In reality they are moving in a straight line (more properly a geodesic) but they are doing so in Riemann Geometry (which is the proper geometry to use in space-time) so that we humans, who instinctively think in Euclidean terms, see them as "curved".

It was this "bending" of light rays that completely confirmed Einstein's Theory of General Relativity.

By the way, welcome to the forum.

Last edited by a moderator:
Hankb said:
If space, as it's usually defined, is empty, nothing, how can it be curved?