Exploring First-Year Engineering GPA Comparisons in Canada

In summary, the average GPA for first year engineering students at the speaker's university in Canada is set at a low 60%, which is lower than the targeted average of 2.8-3.2 in the US. The first year is intentionally made difficult and results in a high dropout rate, but the following years tend to have better grades. The speaker also mentions that different departments within the university have varying averages, with engineering courses having lower averages compared to arts and science courses. The speaker also shares their own experience of doing well above the average but having to work hard for it.
derek181
I am a first year engineering student and was wondering what average GPA's are compared to other universities. I attend a university in Canada which uses a percent based system and the college of engineering sets the average first year at a low 60%.

Physics news on Phys.org
No clue how to translates to the US system but in the US the average engineering undergrad GPA is targeted to be 2.8-3.2. Tests usually have an average of ~70% at my school.

Interesting. At the university I attend they make the first year the most difficult. They let in 200 more people than they have seats for in the second year so they make it as difficult to maintain a low 60 percent average and so about 200 people drop out. Second year is a little easier. Then the 3rd and 4th get a little more easy. Is it the same at your university?

Yeah generally for the 3rd and 4th year classes the class gets better grades. And the dropout rate in the first year is huge, many people just switch to economics or whatever.

Derek - I'd be curious to know if this is an actual written policy somewhere that you've specifically seen or if you're working on hearsay.