Exploring Composition Relations: A and B

So S^{-1}S= {(4, 4), (5, 5), (6, 6)} (not "SS^{-1}"). Now, I'm a little confused about how you got your answer for (b). S= {(4, 5), (4, 6), (5, 4), (6, 6)} so S^{-1}= {(5, 4), (6, 4), (4, 5), (6, 6)} and S^{-1}S= {(5, 5), (6, 5), (4, 4), (6, 6)} so SS^{-1}= {(5, 5
YamiBustamante

Homework Statement

Suppose that A = { 1, 2, 3} , B = { 4, 5, 6} , R = { (1, 4), (1, 5), (2, 5), (3, 6)} ,
and S = { (4, 5), (4, 6), (5, 4), (6, 6)}. Note that R is a relation from A to B and S is a relation from B to B . Find the following relations:
(a) S ◦ R .

(b) S ◦ S−1 .

Homework Equations

S◦R = {(a,c) ∈ (AXC) : ∃ b∈B ((a,b)∈R and (b,c)∈S)}

The Attempt at a Solution

I'm having trouble understanding what a composition relation is. I know you have to the path that connects R and S, but other than that, I don't understand it. This is my first example of a composition relation, so I have little to no prior knowledge in writing S ◦ R . I tried searching for examples online, but I can't find any. My textbook doesn't even cover any examples. I even attempted solving with a picture and "connecting the dots" just like teacher did to demonstrate what S◦R means, but it didn't help as much.
Here's what I have.

a) So I got that S ◦ R = {(1,5),(1,6),(2,4),(3,6)}
The answer is SoR = {(1,5), (1,6), (1,4), (2,4), (3,6)}
But I don't understand how they got (1,4)

b) So for the inverse of S = {(5,4),(6,4),(4,5),(6,6)}
I got that S ◦ S−1 = {(5,5), (4,6), (4,5), (6,6)}
(b)SS1 = {(5,5), (5,6), (6,5), (6,6), (4,4)}
So, I'm completely wrong in this one except for one.Can someone please walk me through how to get to the answers and why they are correct? Please don't give ambiguous hints.

Physics news on Phys.org
NEVERMIND I FIGURED IT OUT!