Exploring a Fifth Force of the Universe

In summary, a 15-year-old student is interested in physics and has read popular physics books. They ask for advice on what to read and if there could be a fifth force in the universe. People respond with encouraging the student to continue reading and learning, but also cautioning them to focus on building a strong mathematical foundation before delving into advanced physics concepts. The conversation also touches on the idea of a fifth force and the potential for more forces to be discovered in the future.
alkadh455
Hi
I'm a 15 year old student that is very interested in physics and want to become a physicist (I wanted to become a physicist since I was 12). I've read a lot of popular physics books (examples like Michio Kaku, Brian Greene, Stephen Hawking, Newton, Carl Sagan,...) so do you guys think I should read certain books, or do certain things as for my age?
As for the main question for this: We all know the four fundamental forces of the universe (the electromagnetic force, gravitational force, strong and weak nuclear forces) but what do you think of a fifth force? Is it possible? tell me your thoughts...
Thanks a lot in advance

Physics news on Phys.org
Quick answer. It is possible. However there is no evidence that a fifth force exists.

alkadh455 said:
Hi
I'm a 15 year old student that is very interested in physics and want to become a physicist (I wanted to become a physicist since I was 12). I've read a lot of popular physics books (examples like Michio Kaku, Brian Greene, Stephen Hawking, Newton, Carl Sagan,...) so do you guys think I should read certain books, or do certain things as for my age?
Good for you, read what you want, whether 'The Universe in a Nutshell' or "Harry Potter 1,2,3" (my teen grandaughter has read every one of them). Myself, I've read Einstein's Relativity about 10 times, and read it every year to still try to understand it. Read, read, read, and have fun, fun, fun...