Exploring a Career in Metrology: Academic Paths & Opportunities

• Thread starter Dauden
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Programs
In summary, many people who work in metrology get their PhD in something related to experimental physics, and then learn specialized skills in data analysis and tracking down uncertainties.
Dauden
After looking at the measuring instruments in the lab I'm working in, it got me thinking about how they actually work and how precise they can possibly be. I'm currently a undergrad in Physics which seems to be a relatively good place to be if I wanted to do some kind of metrology. I just have little to no information as to how one actually gets into it.

Is there some academic path you follow to get into Metrology?

Physics news on Phys.org
Many of my friends from when I was an undergraduate have gotten into meteorology.

They all majored in either Applied Math or Physics and all of them took minors in computer science and atmospheric science.

For graduate school, they all chose University of Washington to get their PhDs in Meteorology. From what I hear, it's a pretty good school for that, so given that my friends all did math/physics as undergrads, I'd say that you're probably not doing anything wrong via getting your undergrad in physics.

Is this Meteorology or Metrology?

Metrology - Science of Measurement

Well, it depends on the area of metrology you are interested in. There is -as far as I know- no "obvious" route into metrology; just about everyone I know ended up in it more or less by chance. It is also a very broad area, the line between "regular" physic/engineering and metrology is very blurry.

It also depends on what "level" of metrology you are interested in, the people who work on metrology for companies are generally engineers; whereas people who work for national measurements institutes (NIST, NPL, PTB etc.) are usually scientists with a PhD in whatever field they are working in (often with a background in academia).