Exploration Geophysics with a Masters in Physics

In summary, the person is currently pursuing a Masters in Physics and is now considering a career in Exploration Geophysics. They are wondering if it would be better to switch to their school's Geophysics program or if they can still find a job in the field with a Masters in Physics. They are also curious about the job market for Geophysics compared to Physics. They are seeking advice and personal experiences from others.
residualquasar
Hello,

I'm currently in my second semester of a Masters in Physics program. I hadn't given much thought to careers before I started, but now that I've been looking into them, I think I 'd most enjoy Exploration Geophysics. Is it likely that I'll find a job in it with a Masters in Physics, or would it be in my best interest to switch to my school's Geophysics program before I get too far along with my current research (in high energy density physics)? Would I be doing my Physics Department and advisor a disservice if I switched? Would I be less likely to be accepted into the Geophysics program since I've already started in Physics?

...Some side questions: How does the Geophysics job market look compared to that of the Physics? How is it in general?

Anyone please feel free to weigh in with personal experiences, opinions, and recommendations.

Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
I don't have too much knowledge, but I know a lot of geologists and geophycists can find jobs in oil or petroleum companies to help tap out oil everywhere, their knowledge is helpful for determining where it is, where it can be etc.

Related to Exploration Geophysics with a Masters in Physics

1. What is exploration geophysics?

Exploration geophysics is a branch of geology that uses physical measurements of the Earth's properties, such as gravity, magnetism, and seismic waves, to investigate and understand the structure and composition of the Earth's subsurface.