Explanation of the discrete fourier transform

In summary, the conversation was about describing images in frequency space and understanding the Fourier transform. The participants discussed how images can be represented as a series of sinusoids in frequency space and the process of running each pixel through a mathematical formula to obtain the Fourier pixel. They also shared some helpful resources for non-mathematical explanations of the Fourier transform. Finally, there was a question about the function used in the Fourier transform and its corresponding base function.
u0362565
Hi all,

I'm a complete novice when it comes to describing images in frequency space and i understand that it is a way of representing images as being composed of a series of sinusoids. So a horizontal striped pattern with a single spatial frequency would have a magnitude image in frequency space with 3 non zero points, the origin the two mirrored points on either side at a distance from the centre depending on the spatial frequency. However in terms of what a Fourier transform actually does to each pixel in the image can anyone explain that. So you run each pixel through a mathematical formula can anyone explain the fast and discrete Fourier transform equations in non-mathematical terms? I haven't really been able to find this online. If you were trying to explain a Fourier transform to someone who knew nothing about imaging or optics even to say the image is decomposed into a series of sinusoids could be a bit baffling..

Thanks for your help,

Matt

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi Andy,

Yes thanks for those all contain very good non-mathematical descriptions. I was trying to interpret the function though so that i could definitively say what calculation is performed on each pixel in the spatial image to yield the Fourier pixel.

F(u,v) = SUM{ f(x,y)*exp(-j*2*pi*(u*x+v*y)/N) }