Explaining Band theory and Momentum Space to laymen?

In summary, an electrician has a degree in physics and an education degree, but due to a lack of patience for students who do not care about learning, they became an electrician. They realized that in order for electrons to flow in a wire, they need to be loosely bound and this is what they explained to a lay person (at a rudimentary level) using concepts of k-space and band structure. Materials that are good conductors tend to have some of these properties.
quarky2001
I didn't put this in the Education forum because I feel the level is probably too high.

I have a physics degree and an education degree, but due to my inability to tolerate students who simply don't care about learning, I became an electrician instead.

My colleagues and I were having a discussion about technical training, and the conversation drifted toward what really causes conduction to occur, and I piped up, having taken several semi-advanced solid state physics courses.

What I realized is, when I tried to explain conduction in simplified terms of k-space and band structure, it just sounded like the Bohr model, when in reality it's quite different. Any ideas how to effectively explain the concepts to someone with a rudimentary understanding of Ohm's law, resistivity, Kirchoff's rules, and basic trig?

Physics news on Phys.org
What to explain depends on what level of response they're looking for.

What makes a material conduct electricity?

Well, in order for electricity to flow in a wire, electrons must be able to flow in the wire.

In order for electrons to be able to flow in a wire, they can't be held too tightly by single atoms in the wire.

In metals, it just so happens that the outermost electrons in atoms of metals are loosely bound enough to flow from atom to atom.