Evaluating the results of a Lax-Wendroff scheme on 1-D flux

• Thread starter SimoneC618
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Flux
In summary, the conversation is about someone seeking help with evaluating the results of their analysis on the flux inside an ICE aspiration manifold. They have implemented Matlab code for Lax-Wendroff and Lax-Friderichs schemes, with various assumptions and conditions. They are unsure if their plots are correct and are seeking verification and assistance in improving their code.
SimoneC618
Homework Statement
Analyze the flux properties in an ICE manifold using 1D numerical methods such as Lax-Wendroff or Lax-Friederichs
Relevant Equations
initial conditions: P_0 = 101325 Pa; T_0 = 293,15 K.
Hi everyone,
i'm very new to the forum so i hope I've used the correct form to write my question.

Anyway, i need some help to evaluate the result of my last analysis: I'm studying the flux flowing inside an ICE aspiration manifold in a very simplified way (1D flux, ideal gas, compressible flow). For the analysis I've implemented the Matlab code for a Lax-Wendroff scheme and for a Lax-Friderichs scheme using the following assumptions:

the air aspirated in the manifold is initially in the ambient condition;

the conditions at the inlet could be find using the energy and mass conservation law that give: T1 = 293.08 K ; P1 = 95421.5 Pa ; u1 = 2.77 m/s.

the pressure value at the outlet can be found assuming the rotation speed of the engine (n = 6000 rpm) and knowing the geometry of the cylinder;
the value I've found is about 5kPa, so P2 = 90161 Pa

Now, i have to solve the mass, momentum and energy conservation in the conservative form with numerical schemes I've mentioned above.
To avoid writing a very long message i attach my code and i hope you can understand all the steps.

Now the question: do you think the plots i obtained are correct? Is that what you expect from a Lax-Wendroff scheme?