Estimating Impact Force from Rotating Shaft on Collar

In summary, the co-op engineering student is thinking about how to find an estimation of the impact force from a broken Cardan shaft. They are considering using an energy method where they find the rotational kinetic energy due to precession from the shaft and equating that to the strain energy of the collar when it deforms from impact. If the collar is strong enough, that might fail the other joint on the rotor, in which case a single collar might not prevent the rotor somehow getting into "free flight".
jay_elec
Hello All,
Some background information: I'm a co-op engineering student and recently my supervisor asked me to do a bit of research on a solution to a problem we had. Essentially, a cardan shaft connecting a motor and a gear box failed at a joint during operation and caused some extensive damage (luckily no one was hurt). A solution to this was to design a collar placed midway of the shaft to "catch" the shaft if it breaks and prevent damage to the surrounding. This shaft is rotating at high speeds so we are assuming precession plays an important factor as the shaft would hit the side of the collar instead of falling straight down if it breaks at a joint.