Engineering/physics idea next step?

• Thread starter Tommyboyblitz
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Idea
In summary: You need to find an expert consultant in your area and hire them for a few hours of consulting. It would probably be a few hours of consulting at something like $200/hour. (2) You need to find an expert in the applicable specialty and consult with them. This will help you to verify the feasibility of your idea and ensure that it is practical.
Tommyboyblitz
I am new to this site and need some advice on an idea i have had.

I am an engineer but i have studied physics as a hobby in my spare time, my idea is engineering based but uses some higher level physics. The theories i am using are sound and have been proven.

The problem is i don't know the next step, I am not sure how practical my idea will be in the real world and need to have the idea checked and confirmed that it is actually possible before i can try and patent it.

I have done the usual searches for my idea and come up with nothing, I have scoured the internet trying to find any link or close idea but there is simple no information out there. To be honest it probably won't work and i am happy to find out if it doesnt. I have tried to debunk the idea alot, the more i do the more I am convinced there is something in it that's worth pursuing. Its also kind of big, i wouldn't be able to make a prototype.

Sorry if i have been vaugue, i don't want to give too much away.

So anyway i am looking for the next step, should i discuss it in a forum and if i did is there a chance my idea could be stolen?

Thanks for any advice

Tommy

Engineering news on Phys.org
Tommyboyblitz said:

I am an engineer but i have studied physics as a hobby in my spare time, my idea is engineering based but uses some higher level physics. The theories i am using are sound and have been proven.